When Words Are Not Enough: What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum Pre-Pub Blog Tour


Thanks for stopping by today as we discuss WHAT TO SAY NEXT  by Julie Buxbaum for a Pre-Pub Blog Tour. 
Julie Buxbaum became one of my favorite authors after reading TELL ME THREE THINGS last year and then that truth was further solidified with WHAT TO SAY NEXT. It is no secret that I adored TELL ME THREE THINGS, but this story of what happens when an autistic boy David, falls in love with a teenage girl Kit, whose father has just died, is un-put-downable.

I was instantly drawn to this brilliant story that had all the feels. Told in dual POV that I always appreciate and it was perfect for the setting of this book. The characters were engaging and you end up adoring Kit and David like nobody's business. The book is short and while that may be quite appealing it is not a book that you can easily breeze through. Every page will zinged me and my poor heart basically seized up so many times that I didn't know if I could handle another blow.  Yet, it was all worth it.
I would love to say more but I cannot because it will spoil you,  and you really need to give this great book a chance. Just bring the tissues along for the journey.


WHAT TO SAY NEXT

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?


JULIE BUXBAUM
Julie Buxbaum is the New York Times best selling author of Tell Me Three Things, her young adult debut, and the critically acclaimed novels The Opposite of Love and After You. Her work has been translated into twenty-five languages. Julie’s writing has appeared in various publications, including The New York Times. She is a former lawyer and graduate of Harvard Law School and lives in Los Angeles with her husband, two young children, and an immortal goldfish. Visit Julie online at www.juliebuxbaum.com and follow @juliebux on Twitter.

Social Media
Twitter: @juliebux
Instagram: @JulieBuxbaum
Good Reads: click here

2 comments:

  1. I'm so excited to read this one! It sounds absolutely beautiful. And Julie Buxbaum is just a phenomenal writer.

    ReplyDelete

Let's Discuss!