When is a Fantasy Like a Contemporary? In Timekeeper, That's Where (Review)

Frriiiieeends. Come a little closer. Let me tell you about this amazing book.

Timekeeper, the book that is written like a fantasy, but feels like a contemporary. Tara Sim is a dang genius because she got the world building and feels so deep in this book that the idea of putting it down is near impossible. This is one of the best paced books I've ever read. I loved every second.

Oh, these characters. Danny and Colton and everyone between them. Danny, who basically has the keys to unlock (and relock) time and Colton, the forbidden love who embodies time itself. They're both completely adorable and lovable. You'll feel for Danny and his journey, as he tries to save his father and simultaneously attempts to keep time in order. As you can imagine, there's quite a bit of unrest with the kind of power the clocktowers have. You'll also be screaming KISSSSSS through most of the book.

There's something really special about the world building in this book. I struggle to read fantasy when the world building is heavy, super foreign, or made of magic. In Timekeeper, not only does Tara weave the world building in, but it feels so natural and I can completely see it. It helps that she describes the setting in the back of the book, something I greatly appreciated.

So, can I have book two now? This is one of the few series where I am THRILLED there is more.

PS Tara Sim is launching Timekeeper at Kepler's tonight and a little birdie told me they have VERY limited copies out early so you can get a signed version. Give them a call if you want one!

Christy



Timekeeper
by Tara Sim
Published: November 8th 2016
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Source: Edelweiss - because the launch isn't here yet!

Two o’clock was missing. 

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

2 comments:

Let's Discuss!