LOST STARS Blog Tour: Guest Post + GIVEAWAY




Hello lovely readers! Today we are hosting a tour stop for the LOST STARS Blog Tour by RockStar Book Tours. LOST STARS is written by Lisa Selin Davis and it is a story about girl that is dealing with the loss of her sister and when she spins out of control her father decides to place her in a summer work camp where romance and her true self come out to shine.

LOST STARS has gotten much praise and we hope you take a moment and get to know this book, the author and the timeline for this story a little better. Then at the end you can enter the giveaway that three lucky people will win a finished copy of LOST STARS.

Thanks for coming by and GOOD LUCK!
 
About the Book:

Title: LOST STARS

Author: Lisa Selin Davis

Pub. Date: October 4, 2016

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Pages: 288

Formats: Hardcover, eBook




Before her older sister, Ginny, died, Carrie was a science nerd, obsessively tracking her beloved Vira comet. But now that Ginny is gone, sixteen-year-old Carrie finds herself within the orbit of Ginny’s friends, a close-knit group of seniors who skip school, obsess over bands (not science), and party hard.



Fed up with Carrie’s behavior, her father enrolls her in a summer work camp at a local state park. Carrie actually likes the days spent in nature. And when she meets Dean, a guy who likes the real Carrie—astrophysics obsessions and all—she starts to get to the heart of who she is and who she wants to be. 
Praise for LOST STARS
"A moving real-life problem novel...Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park and Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower will dig this book."—School Library Journal

"Lost Stars is a novel for anyone who's every grappled with their own place in the universe." —PopSugar, Best YA of 2016

“Davis makes the 1980s shine…[and] makes interesting connections between science and teen angst.”—Kirkus Reviews

About Lisa:

I'm super crazy excited to have my first YA novel, Lost Stars, come out in October 2016. I also have a novel for grownups called Belly, published by Little, Brown a few years ago. For the last 12 years or so, I've paid my rent by writing articles for The New York Times, Time, The Wall Street Journal and a zillion other publications. Before that I worked in film and TV, doing props and other art department jobs, including a four-year stint making props for Nickelodeon's Blue's Clues. I live in Brooklyn (but, hey, I moved here before it was cool) with my hubby, two kiddos and our kitty.










Tales of the Ravenous Reader: Guest Post Topic


My topic is for the timeline in this story.



What made the author decide to write this book with the setting in the 80's and what research went into it? If she could demonstrate a Pinterest board or whatever she could to show how she got all the information she needed. That would be great



Okay, here’s something that I kind of don’t want to admit: I was a teenager in the 80s. That makes me sound like a dinosaur, I know, but LOST STARS is based very loosely on my own 16th summer, and it’s about music and making mix tapes and a lot of things that couldn’t happen today. I tried to set it in the 21st century, but making a Spotify playlist instead of a mix tape just wasn’t working. And I wanted there to be periods when the characters couldn’t connect, the pre-cell phone, pre-Internet days where someone had to actually get your phone number to reach you, where there was silence that you could interpret in a million different ways, instead of just assuming it’s ghosting. Back then you had to call someone or go to their house if you wanted to see them.


So some of the research was just mining my own brain. A lot of the music was music that I loved—I Will Survive was my favorite song when I was really little, as it is Carrie’s. Although I wanted Carrie to be much cooler than I was, and the music I picked out for her reflects that. She likes the songs that my boyfriend when I was a teenager, and that the members of The Figgs—we were groupies of theirs, as well as their friends—liked. So that’s more of the post-punk, boy-centric music like The Replacements (though I do love them) or Hüsker Dü. The other songs in the book, a lot of those that Carrie and her friends don’t actually like, are hits from the 80s, some that I remember and some that Spotify reminded me of (I did a lot of “Go to song radio” on Spotify), stuff that I think is kind of terrible but still catchy, like Eye of the Tiger, Bon Jovi and Def Leppard. I apologize to all of those bands for saying that!


I also did a lot of research about astrophysics, though of course that has nothing to do with the 80s. But I based Lost Stars’ Vira comet on Halley’s comet, which swung by earth in the 1980s (though not in the summer, when my book takes place, so I invented my own comet).


There’s enough of a resurgence of 80s clothing and looks right now—converse high tops and skinny jeans and asymmetrical haircuts, for instance—that I didn’t have to do too much research about how people looked. But there were so many times when I Googled things like “important events from 1986” or cars from the 1980s.” Also: “1980s slang.” At one point, Carrie tells Tommy, who has bad taste in music, that Hüsker Dü is “rad.” That, I had to Google!



Here’s my Pinterest board of LOST STARS inspiration!

https://www.pinterest.com/lisaselindavis/lost-stars-inspiration/


Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of LOST STARS, US Only.






Tour Schedule:
Week One:
9/26/2016- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview
9/27/2016- 125PagesReview
9/28/2016- Tales of the Ravenous ReaderGuest Post
9/29/2016- The Phantom ParagrapherReview
9/30/2016- ParajunkeeInterview

Week Two:
10/3/2016- Here's to Happy EndingsReview
10/4/2016- Literary MeanderingsGuest Post
10/5/2016- YA Book MadnessReview
10/6/2016- The Cover ContessaInterview
10/7/2016- Lady Amber's Reviews & PRReview

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Let's Discuss!