DON'T YOU TRUST ME? Narrated by Bailey Carr (Giveaway!)


If you didn't know, Nancy and I spend considerable amounts of time commuting for work which means we have tons of time for audiobooks (our prefered way to read!). Today we are here to share one of our anticipated reads for the fall and the unsung hero who will make it a reality for us!


Spotlight on: Bailey Carr, Don't Trust Me Narrator


How did you get started in audiobooks?
I grew up in Knoxville, Tennessee and moved to New York for college in 2006. I graduated from the NYU Tisch Acting program in 2010 and was cast for my first book for Audible Studios in 2011. I've always loved reading, and I feel so grateful to get to bring stories to life in audio.



What are some of your favorite books that you've narrated?
So hard to choose! Some of my favorite audiobooks recorded to-date include THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING by Morgan Matson, SEVEN WAYS WE LIE by Riley Redgate, INCEPTION by Bianca Scardoni, and ART & SOUL by Brittainy C. Cherry. I have a youthful voice, so I mostly narrate Young Adult and New Adult material. Earlier this year, I had the opportunity to narrate the incredibly interesting and special memoir of hummingbird rehabber Terry Masear, FASTEST THINGS ON WINGS. I learned so much about hummingbirds! I also recently narrated some Non-Fic on the Myers-Briggs Personality Types. (ENFP over here!) I can't say too much about upcoming books due to publisher restrictions, but I CAN say I'm very excited about a nine-book YA series on the horizon, and also a book I’ll be co-narrating with a Disney TV star that I totally had a poster of in my locker in school! Stay tuned…!

What is your preparation process like?
I mark up my scripts like crazy - I’ve created my own notation language (a shorthand IPA, for you VO people) so I can mark pronunciations, underline operative words, and take note of direction the author has subtly gifted me in the words they’ve chosen. Staying true to the text is very important to me, so I rely on the author’s clues to inform my delivery and direct my performance (such as “Not if I get there first!” she gritted through her teeth.) Script preparation helps me be relaxed and present in the booth. Audiobook narration is a marathon and requires stamina, so it’s important to take lots of breaks to remain engaged and connected to the material. As for while I’m in the booth, I’ve learned a lot of tricks of the trade. Hydration is so important. I drink a ton of water! And tea. I probably have at least three different liquids on hand at all times. I also brush my teeth right before every recording session. (Is that weird?)

Any interesting stories from the booth?
In Morgan Matson’s THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING, four best friends have a group text thread. No spoilers, but one of the characters gets challenged to an emoji-only summer, where she’s only allowed to use emojis to communicate via text. It’s pretty hilarious! I worked closely with Morgan, the author, and it was a super fun challenge to translate the emojis to spoken word for the audiobook, especially for an emoji-lover like myself πŸ’•πŸ“šπŸΆπŸ•πŸ©πŸ¦πŸ’‘.

Fun facts about Bailey?
My recording booth is purple! (My favorite color.) I play the guitar & the saxophone. I have a pet blue crayfish named Dr. Claw. Out of the booth, I volunteer at educational non-profit, FarmingNYC. I’m also a New York Times published photographer.

Social:
I absolutely love connecting with listeners on social. Recording alone in a booth many hours every day can be isolating, and I put my whole heart into each character and book I narrate, so it’s very meaningful to me to hear back when listeners enjoy a story.

Bailey’s Social Media Links

Twitter : @BaileyCarrVOICE
Instagram : @BaileyCarrVOICE

The audiobook is for sale on Recorded Books as a digital download (& on disc)!  It is also currently avail for Pre-Order on Audible.

Don't You Trust Me?
by Patrice Kindl
Narrated by Baily Carr
Release Date: August 30th, 2016

A teenage girl switches identities with a stranger and pulls off a long-term scam in this smart, sarcastic thriller perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Don’t you trust me? I mean, look at me. Blond, blue-eyed, the very image of innocence. Pretty enough, if you care about that kind of thing. I don’t.

But would a normal person switch identities with some wet mess of a girl at the airport, just to get her to stop bawling about being separated from her loser boyfriend and sent to live with some distant relatives? Nope, she wouldn’t. Yet I did. I’m not as normal as you think. And you’ll just have to trust me on that.

GIVEAWAY 

Don't You Trust Me? Audio Giveaway

3 comments:

  1. Love this interview! Bailey is so down-to-earth. It's great to get a "behind the-scenes" peak into her work. ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed! Without great narrators, my reading would be minimal.

      Delete
  2. Thank you so much for the narrator spotlight, Christy Jane! It's an honor to be featured on your site! Hope you love listening to DON'T YOU TRUST ME! :)

    ReplyDelete

Let's Discuss!