Novel to Reel: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab


DID YOU GUYS SEE THE NEWS! How exciting for Victoria! Visit our review here and check out the full release below.

From Hollywood Reporter

The novel — set in a dark dystopian urban world where monsters are real — debuted at No. 1 on the New York Times' YA best-seller list.

Sony Pictures has picked up film rights to the New York Times best-selling YA novel This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab.

The book is a dark urban fantasy set in a city so overrun with crime and violence that the violence has begun to breed actual monsters who feed on people. Leads Kate and August come from opposite sides — Kate's father extorts the innocent for protection from the monsters, August's father tries to protect the innocent. After a failed assassination attempt, the pair are thrown together and must flee for their lives, whereupon Kate discovers August’s secret: He’s a monster, and a powerful one who can steal souls with a song.

Joby Harold and Tory Tunnell of Safe House Pictures will produce, along with Palak Patel and Aimee Rivera, who will oversee for Sony.

This Savage Song, which published July 5 on the HarperCollins imprint Greenwillow, debuted at No. 1 on theNew York Times YA best-seller list. The story has been described as in the vein of Maggie Stiefvater and Lani Taylor's work. A sequel, Our Dark Duet, is scheduled for summer 2017.

Schwab also is the author of YA novels The Near Witch and The Archived and adult fantasy series A Darker Shade of Magic.

Schwab is repped by CAA and Holly Root of Waxman Leavell Literary Agency.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Let's Discuss!