#BOLDLYBOOKISH REVIEW: THE LONG GAME by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Welcome to Day 3 of 5 Days of Boldly Bookish, where you’ll find reviews, event recaps for the Boldly Bookish tour, and a giveaway to be announced. If you missed Day 1, a review for Tara Altebrando’s The Leaving, you can find it here or Day 2, a review for Tiffany Schmidt’s Break Me Like a Promise, you can find it here.

The Long Game
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: June 7th 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Source: Netgalley
Rating:  ♥♥♥♥♥


Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate's campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess's guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can--and cannot--be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she's about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

My Thoughts: 

If The Fixer (review here) is Scandal meets Veronica Mars, The Long Game is Scandal meets Veronica Mars meets…24. WHOOOAAA what an intense ride this book is!



The book starts were The Fixer leaves off. Tess is known to her classmates as a mini-fixer, someone who can help them in times then they’re stuck or in trouble. It ends with all of us needing therapy. And probably a defibrillator. Seriously. 

“The people who are supposed to protect us, the people we are supposed to trust - I know that sometimes they are the ones who do the most harm.” 

Tess is charged with helping a classmate run her school election campaign, which wasn’t too hard until said classmate’s brother is accused of murder. This spirals out of order quickly into a full-blown terrorist and corruption plot, way bigger than The Fixer ever was. This is the big leagues now! The family drama multiplies exponentially and becomes so convoluted you’ll need to get out your handy dandy genealogy map just to keep track of it all. There’s mystery, murder, thrills, and chills as the book goes on.

There are two characters who I was suspicious of throughout The Fixer and The Long Game, and it turns out my suspiciously were correct. It’s clear one of them will drive the conflict in the third book. This book very much does not have second book syndrome. You could read it as a stand alone and have enough background to understand everything that is going on (but The Fixer is great so please check it out). 

There are several main twists and turns, some which will give you whiplash! The writing is strong, just like Tess and most of her friends and family. The bond between Tess and Ivy grows stronger and you see Tess grow emotionally. Solid book and I can’t wait to see where Barnes takes them next. 

Two mini-excerpts, one longer excerpt, and an Asher factoid can be found here and here.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Let's Discuss!