Waiting on Wednesday: THE DARK MISSIONS OF EDGAR BRIM by Shane Peacock

Jill over at Breaking the Spine started this and I believe that it's awesome" This blog post is to alert those that visit about "the" book that we cannot wait to get our hands on.

My WoW this week is THE DARK MISSIONS OF EDGAR BRIM by Shane Peacock. I have always enjoyed a good gothic read. Having been a fan of Kenneth Opal's YA novels and Penny Dreadful I knew that I would enjoy this upcoming novel showcasing a character who is hell bent on chasing his fears, whatever the cost.

THE DARK MISSIONS OF EDGAR BRIM
Tundra
352 pages
May 3, 2016 
 
 
The first in a gripping new gothic trilogy from an acclaimed author, for fans of Ken Oppel’s This Dark Endeavor and Such Wicked Intent and HBO’s Penny Dreadful series.

Edgar Brim is a sensitive orphan who, exposed to horror stories from his father as a young child, is afraid of almost everything and suffers from nightly terrors. His stern new guardian, Mr. Thorne, sends the boy to a gloomy school in Scotland where his dark demons only seem to worsen and he is bullied and ridiculed for his fears. But years later, when sixteen-year-old Edgar finds a journal belonging to his novelist father, he becomes determined to confront his nightmares and the bullies who taunt him. After the horrific death of a schoolmate, Edgar becomes involved with an eccentric society at the urging of a mysterious professor who believes that monsters from famous works of literature are real and whose mandate is to find and destroy these creatures. With the aid of a rag-tag crew of friends, the fear-addled teen sets about on his dark mission, one that begins in the cemetery on the bleak Scottish moors and ends in a spine-chilling climax on the stage of the Royal Lyceum Theatre in London with Henry Irving, the infamous and magnetic actor, and his manager, Bram Stoker, the author of the most frightening and sensational novel of the day, Dracula. Can Edgar Brim truly face his terror and conquer his fears?
 

2 comments:

  1. I just binge watched Penny Dreadful S2. I love that show. It has a perfect mix of darkness and suspense.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That's a totally new to me one! Sounds intriguing! Hope you enjoy it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete

Let's Discuss!