Blog Tour: Guest Post and Giveaway for THE HALCYON BIRD (THE DEMON CATCHERS OF MILAN BOOK TWO)




THE DEMON CATCHER of MILAN: The Halcyon Bird

For fans of Lauren Kate and Cassandra Clare, a romance with a paranormal streak.

Mia has settled into her life with the Della Torres -- Milan's premier demon-catching family, accompanying them to exorcisms and even learning some way to be useful in the family trade. Then Bernardo comes into her life, handsome, well-mannered, someone who makes her forget her impossible crush on Emilio, her cousin. But always lurking in the background is the demon who possessed Mia once before, and who has not given up on possessing her again--this time for good.


Purchase The Halcyon Bird at Amazon Purchase The Halcyon Bird at IndieBound View The Halcyon Bird on Goodreads




About Kat Beyer Kat Beyer has an M.A. in medieval history and has loved all things Italian for as long as she can remember. Her first novel was The Demon Catchers of Milan. She lives with her daughter in Madison, Wisconsin. Visit her online at http://www.katspaw.com/blog/

GUEST POST by Kat Beyer


—Here’s a description of Emilio Roberto Della Torre’s demon catching case. Enjoy!
The Della Torre family has been practicing demon catching and exorcism in Milan, Italy for over seven hundred years (some records point to over a millennium). For at least the last three hundred years they’ve been carrying small cases that contain the tools of their profession. Emilio Della Torre, our heroine Mia’s distant cousin, has a particularly interesting one that was made by an eighteenth century ancestor of theirs. Here’s a description of it. Enjoy!—
The case is slightly longer than a man's hand—call it a man's hand and two knuckles—bound in black leather, with enameled iron fittings. It could be tucked in the pocket of a well-tailored jacket.
Near the catch, someone long ago stamped and gilded the name G. G. Della Torre. Above it are other names, some stamped and gilded, some cut carefully into the leather, some painted in white ink in the script of other days: G. L. Della Torre, Martegno D. T., Stefano Strozzi Della Torre, and more, a long column of names, and at the bottom of the list, close to the hinges, in an elegant gilded script, Emilio Roberto Della Torre.
The back of the case has a deep scar in the leather, and there are singe marks near the hinges, so with a bit of Milanese history we can guess what the case is for, but only when it's open can we be sure. Only then do they show themselves, neatly stowed each in their compartments: Bell, book, and candle.
The book is singed like the case. The pages are of good hemp paper, edges finger-dirty with the ages. Many hands have written recipes and rituals for contending with all that humankind can raise from the depths, with notes in the margins, and notes on the notes. "Ineffective variant of early Byzantine exorcism." "Works well on lost spirits."
The bell is small and brass and battered, but gives a sweet sound, a little-sister laugh that mocks the big sister church bells of the city. It's easy to imagine how a demon might rise to the surface at the sound of such a bell; anyone would.
The candle is a stub of yellow beeswax. A box of matches from Ristorante Nobu, the good sushi place in via Manzoni, is wedged in next to it.
The case holds a few other items, like 13 silver nails, each individually strapped to the wood, an excellent fountain pen, and a grocery list written in a grandmother's hand—"500g of grana, eggs, butter, olive al forno, tickets to La Scala for next Friday, Nonno’s razors, stamps"—this last obviously tucked in by a busy grandson, this Emilio.
But let us put the case away, back in the drawer in his desk; we are not ready to face what he faces.

 




Don't forget to enter the giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Make sure to follow along with the tour by stopping by each of these blog tour stops

Blog Tour for The Demon Catchers of Milan Book Two: The Halcyon Bird
by Kay Beyer


 Monday, November 10, 2014

Adventures in YA Publishing
One question and giveaway

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Tales of the Ravenous Reader
Guest post and giveaway

Wednesday, November 12, 2014


Addicted Readers
Guest post and giveaway

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Curling Up With A Good Book
Q&A and giveaway

Friday, November 14, 2014

The Book Wars
Guest post and giveaway

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Book Briefs Blog
Guest post and giveaway

The Children’s Book Review
Guest post and giveaway


Sunday, November 16, 2014

Charlotte’s Library
Guest post and giveaway

A Dream Within A Dream
Q&A and giveaway

Monday, November 17, 2014

Batch of Books
Q&A and giveaway

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Fandom Monthly
Q&A and giveaway

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Brandi Breathes Books
Guest post and giveaway

Jean BookNerd
Q&A and giveaway

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Crossroad Reviews
Review and giveaway

Friday, November 21, 2014

Bloggin’ ‘Bout Books
Review and giveaway

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Let's Discuss!