Sneak a Peek Saturday is a feature that I like to indulge in because I cannot wait to read the tasty tid bits that are put out there for us ravenous readers to enjoy.  

Now that contemporary fiction has seized my heart I am on a quest to find that "ahhh, yes!" read. THE TRAGEDY PAPER by Elizabeth Laban is just that book. Forbidden love and tragedy amongst a backdrop of a private school. It all seems too perfect to be true and now you can read the first 35 pages and see what all the hype is about. I promise you will not want it to end.

01/08/13
THE TRAGEDY PAPER
by Elizabeth Laban
ISBN-13: 978-0375870408
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Amazon, B&NGoodreads
CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE FOR A SNEAK PEEK

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, The Tragedy Paper has been called “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak,” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner.

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.

Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

2 comments on "Sneak a Peek Saturday: THE TRAGEDY PAPER BY ELIZABETH LABAN"

2 comments:

  1. I was given the ARC of this book and at first I wasn't too sure whether or not to start reading it right away, but after this post, I think I'll pick this up asap! :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow - thank you so much for featuring my book - and for saying such nice things about it.

    ReplyDelete

We would love to see what you have to say :)

Dianna (Stories After Twelve) wrote:
December 1, 2012 at 11:01 AM

I was given the ARC of this book and at first I wasn't too sure whether or not to start reading it right away, but after this post, I think I'll pick this up asap! :D


2 comments:

  1. I was given the ARC of this book and at first I wasn't too sure whether or not to start reading it right away, but after this post, I think I'll pick this up asap! :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow - thank you so much for featuring my book - and for saying such nice things about it.

    ReplyDelete

We would love to see what you have to say :)

Elizabeth LaBan wrote:
December 6, 2012 at 4:42 PM

Wow - thank you so much for featuring my book - and for saying such nice things about it.


Post a Comment

We would love to see what you have to say :)

“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I've accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on. Reading is the unbelievably healthy way my attention deficit disorder medicates itself. Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it's a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it's a way of making contact with someone else's imagination after a day that's all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.”

Nora Ephron, I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman

The Ravenous Readers

Grab Our Button

Email Twitter RSS Feed

Contact Us

We are avid readers from Northern California and if you are a publisher and would like to have your YOUNG ADULT or NEW ADULT book reviewed, please email us. We accept ARCs, as well as books that have already been released. We are also more than happy to do author interviews, guest posts, and contests to promote your book as long as they are in the Young and New Adult genre. Please check our review policy prior to sending me an email, thank you. talesoftheravenousreader
(at)gmail(dot)com

Followers

Follow by Email

What Nancy is Reading

What Christy is Reading

Christy's Currently Reading


goodreads.com

@ravenousreader on INSTAGRAM

Net Galley

Professional Reader

**GIVEAWAYS**

**GIVEAWAYS**
Recreated Set

Upcoming YA Bay Area Book Events

We have compiled all the SF, bay area YA events in this section. If you know of any events that we have failed to post, please let us know. Also, please keep in mind that some events may change and it is always best to verify any event prior to attendance.

VERONICA ROSSI
Our very own
CHRISTY is covering the event
Hicklebee's in San Jose
Wednesday, August 3 @ 7pm


STEPHANIE KUEHN
The Smaller Evil
Mrs. Dalloway's Books
in Berkeley
Saturday, August 6 @ 7:30pm

WILL RITTER

Books Inc. at Laurel Village
Monday, August 29 @ 7pm

WILL RITTER
Copperfield's in Petaluma
Tuesday, August 30 @ 4pm

Book Launch: SABAA TAHIR
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Tuesday, August 30 @ 7pm

SEPTEMBER

KIM ZARINS
The Avid Read in Davis
Sunday, September 11 @ 2pm

CALLA DEVLIN
Books Inc. In San Francisco
Wednesday, September 14 @ 7pm

GAYLE FORMAN

Books Inc. in San Francisco
Thursday, September 15 @ 7pm

TRACI CHEE
Book Launch for The Reader
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Friday, September 16 @ 7pm

GAYLE FORMAN

Copperfield's in Santa Rosa
Friday, September 16 @ 7pm

JACQUELINE WOODSON
St. John's Presbyterian Church
in Berkeley
Tuesday, September 20 @ 7:30pm

LISA McMANN
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Wednesday, September 28 @ 7pm

OCTOBER

LEIGH BARDUGO
Linden Tree Books in Lost Altos
Sunday, October 2 @TBA

MARGARET STOHL
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Friday, October 14 time TBA

MARIE LU
Mrs. Dalloway's North Branch of the Berkeley Public Library
Tuesday, October 18 @ 6:30

Rating System

♥♥♥♥♥ Love it! A must read

♥♥♥♥ Great, give it a try

♥♥♥ Okay, a decent read

♥♥ Meh, read at your own risk

Would not recommend

DNF=Did Not Finish

Book Tour Host

Blog Archive

Blog Stats

Blog Designer